Photographer of the Year – NOMINATED!

Well it’s been a while since I wrote a blog post, so I thought I’d do a little catch up as I have had such a great couple of months – thought I’d share some of the things I have been up to! Firstly I was published in a Tattoo magazine. The image (below) features Tattoo artist Dave Perry at his studio in Torquay ‘Revolver’.

Skullage

Featuring Dave Perry @Revolver

I was also published in Professional Imagemaker Magazine, with a 10 page feature which talks about Portraiture as Art and the Masterclass that I am doind at the Photography Convention in January. But the best thing – my image of Paige Frost as ‘Ms Christmas’ from my series of images ‘Behind Every Great Man’ was featured on the front cover! Professional Imagemaker is one of my favourite magazines, so I am very proud of this!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And now we are into December and the good news keeps coming! This month I have received 4 Gold Awards, 2 For December and 2 Upgrades… The First 2 of Paige…. The cover Image, and the Reindeer image (which took me ages shooting and editing Reindeer to look right!) plus my image of Charlotte Crews as a refugee girl ‘Your World, My Dream’ and my first art nude image ‘Joined’ illustrating sexuality. (Below)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally and most importantly – I have been nominated for Photographer of the Year, not once but twice! The categories I am a finalist in are ‘Digital Art’ and ‘Avant Garde’. It’s not the first time I’ve been nominated, and I have never won – so I have no expectations at all, but I am delighted that my hard work this year has gained me a nomination. When you produce pictures like mine, you cannot expect them to appeal to everyone, so it is unlikely I have won but how cool to get nominated – thrilled to bits!!! I would recommend all Photographers enter The Societies Monthly Competitions, it really isn’t about the winning… but it will build your confidence, inspire you to work harder, and if you are lucky – reward you with Gold! The Awards night is on the 23rd January 2016 and is being held at The London Hilton Metrapole Hotel. With my dearest friend Hannah and my daughter Jodie there with me to share the celebration of being nominated (and to share a glass of wine or two!) it is sure to be a great night for everyone attending….

I probably wont be writing on here again until the new year, so all that is left for me to do is thank everyone for your support of my work during 2015 and to wish you all a very happy and restful Christmas and New Year….

I hope for love and peace the world over for 2016.

Vicki xx

